WHSLA Awards, Stipend Winners

In 1990 WHSLA approved the creation of two awards: Library and Librarian of the Year. Nominations are accepted from members yearly. Deadline for nominations is July 1st of the year. The awards are presented at the annual meeting or at another event approved by the WHSLA board.

WHSLA Librarian of the Year guidelines and nomination forms (pdf)

WHSLA Library of the Year guidelines and nomination forms

Past Library and Librarian of the Year Awards

Annual Stipend Award Recipients
2017 - Michele Matucheski, Ascension WI Libraries
2016 - Elissa Kinzleman-Vesely, Wheaton Franciscan –All Saints and Kathryn Mlsna, Medical College of Wisconsin
2015 - Eileen Severson, Gundersen Health System Libraries and Brenda Fay, Aurora Sinai Medical Center
2014 - Deb Knippel, Ministry Health Libraries

Librarian of the Year

Barb Ruggeri: WHSLA's 2017 Librarian of the Year
Barb Ruggeri, WHSLA 2017 Librarian of the Year
Karen Hanus, who nominated Barb, had these kind things to say about her in the nomination form (submitted in July 2017). 

"Barb Ruggeri is a distinguished member of the health sciences library profession.  Barb has deep rooted experience as a medical librarian.  She has been the Clinical Services Librarian at Children’s Hospital of Wisconsin for over 10 years.  Prior to her current role, she was the User Education/Reference Librarian at the Medical College of Wisconsin Libraries.  She also worked at Mercy Health System and Waukesha Memorial Hospital.  Barb has provided valuable service to the health care professionals at Children’s Hospital through her work with clinical care teams such as the Rare and Undiagnosed Disease Team. She’s also made significant contributions to resident education through her work at Pediatric Senior Rounds.

Barb has also been an active participant in professional associations.  Barb has served as presiding officer of the Southeastern Wisconsin Health Science Libraries Consortium and president of WHSLA.  Her introduction of the WHSLA Wisdom Chat in 2016 has revitalized communication among WHSLA members and provided an ongoing forum for learning and professional discourse without imposing the need for travel for members or large expense for the association.  Her creativity and innovation has added a valuable service that benefits WHSLA members. 

Barb will be leaving the Medical College of Wisconsin for a new health science librarianship role at Carroll University in July 2017.  But, she will undoubtedly continue to be a resource for WHSLA and a role model for health science librarians.  I am extremely grateful for the contributions Barb has made to WHSLA, especially the WHSLA Wisdom Chat.  I feel that she is deserving of the title of 2017 Wisconsin Health Science Librarian of the Year for this contribution."

Library of the Year

2016 - Medical College of Wisconsin: nominated by Karen Hanus
Barb Ruggeri presenting Karen Hanus with the 2016 WHSLA Library of the Year Award